Zurich Process


Description of the axis

The Tauern-Karavanke corridor connects Salzburg (AT) with Villach (AT) and Jesenice (SI) and constitutes a major route for transit and holiday traffic crossing the Alps in the north-south direction. On the Austrian side the corridor consists of the A10 Tauern motorway and the A11 Karavanke motorway, and on the Slovenian side of the Gorenjsko-dolenjska motorway.


Competent authority: Federal ministry for traffic, innovation and technology (bmvit)
Road maintenance: Autobahnen- und Schnellstraßen-Finanzierungs-AG (ASFINAG)

ASFINAG Service-Center:  
0800 400 12 400 (toll-free from AT, DE, CH)
+43 (0)1 955 12 66 (calls charged from all other countries)


Competent authority: Ministry of infrastructure and spatial planning (MZIP)

Road maintenance: Motorway Company in the Republic of Slovenia (DARS)

Service Centre: PIC traffic information centre for public roads (info@remove-this.promet.si tel.1970)

Route information

  • Distance from Salzburg junction (AT) – Jesenice (SI): 208 km
  • Austria: Distance from Salzburg junction –AT/SI border: 202 km
  • Slovenia: Distance from AT/SI border – Jesenice: 6 km


  • Number of tunnels: 16
  • Total length of tunnels: ca. 34.6 km
  • Longest tunnel: Karawanken tunnel, 7,864 m
  • Number of bridges: 473
  • Total length of bridges: ca. 43.5 km
  • Longest bridge: Rauchenkatsch suspension bridge 1,700 m
  • Maximum gradient (ascending/descending): 5 %

Main tunnels:

 Tauern tunnelKatschberg tunnelKarawanken tunnel
 Length6,546 m5,500 m7,864 m
 Tunnel bores221

 Lanes per carriageway

22 1 (two-way traffic)
A10 Tauern motorway